I’ve now seen 27 of the 50 noir films from my list, and truth be told, I need a change. While I have discovered some truly brilliant films (Pickup on South Street, White Heat, Angels with Dirty Faces, Rififi etc…) I need a break from the genre – there’s only so many criminals, stoolies, bent cops and backstabbers I can stomach. I will return to the list shortly, but right now I’m going to concentrate on my new, rather awesome Hammer Collection:

It’s a beautifully packaged collection, and a bargain, at only £35 for 21 classic Hammer films! It’s missing some iconic horror essentials (The Pit and the Pendulum, The Masque of the Red Death etc..) but it’s still a great introduction to the world of schlock and camp that is Hammer. Reviews to follow shortly, first stop is likely 1 Million Years BC and Raquel Welch in THAT bikini. Bring on the camp!

