Click here for the entire list

It’s pretty easy to find a nice high-res wallpaper for the latest blockbuster. Unfortunately fans of older, classic, or more obscure cinema are woefully under-served in this department. So, in the first of what I hope will be an ongoing feature, I have made some high-resolution wallpapers for some classic film, using only shots from the DVD’s themselves and Gimp’s own tools.

As you are about to see, I’m no graphic designer, but I enjoyed making them and learning to use Gimp, and beggars can’t be choosers!

At the moment they are tailored for my 1080p TV screen, so they are all 1920×1080. If you would like one in a smaller resolution or non-widescreen aspect ratio, please let me know in a comment below the post and I’ll try to accommodate. Would also welcome any requests for the next round of pictures.

Please let me know what you think if you decide to use any of these! Click the image for full 1920×1080 resolution.

Hadaka no shima [1960]

First up is Kaneto Shindô’s Hadaka no Shima (aka Naked Island). I have made two wallpapers here because in my mind it’s one of the greatest pieces of film ever made and deserves more recognition.

Metropolis [1927]

Next up are 2 slightly different wallpapers for the epic masterpiece Metropolis by Fritz Lang.

M [1931]

Another Fritz Lang masterpiece now – M – the director’s first talkie.

Nosferatu [1922]

Murnau’s creepy and incredibly influential retelling of Bram Stoker’s Dracula – Nosferatu.

The Third Man [1949]

Finally Carol Reed’s fantastic noir tale The Third Man –  If only I could embed the zither score into the image!

I know they are basic, but hopefully fans of these movies now have another option to spruce up their desktop. I am currently working on another 5 to add so check back frequently for more, or better yet – subscribe and get mailed as soon as I post!

Update:

Seven Samurai [1954] by coolathlon

Many thanks to reader and whatthemovie fellow coolathlon for contributing a wallpaper for Kurosawa’s seminal Samurai action epic, Seven Samurai (Shichinin no samurai). Looks great coolathlon! Click for full 1920×1080. Coolathlon can be contacted on twitter and his profile on whatthemovie .

