I wasn’t going to post about this until I actually received it, but quite frankly I can’t contain my excitement. As of last night, I am the very proud owner of this original, rare 11 x 14″ colour lobby card for Hitchcock’s 2nd version of “The man who knew too much”:

Notice those black squiggles? Take a closer look :

That’s right, Jimmy Stewart’s (and of course the lovely Doris Day’s) autograph! I honestly can’t believe that I am going to have in my possession a lobby card that has been in the hand of the gentlemanly, legendary (and personal favourite) actor James Stewart! It comes with all the relevant authenticity information from the International Autograph Dealers Alliance, the UACC Registered Autograph Dealers, and the Manuscript society, and is going to be winging its way across the Atlantic on Monday as priority air-mail!

I realise I’m using a lot of exclamation points here, but this is kind of a big deal to me, so let me get it out of my system….

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!JIMMY STEWART’S AUTOGRAPH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Can’t wait to get this, frame it nicely with its authenticity paperwork and make it a centerpiece of my movie collection. I’m so overwhelmed by Jimmy’s squiggle that it’s easy for me to forget the lobby card itself is also awesome, from a fantastic Hitchcock movie.

My first piece of genuine cinema history memorabilia. Consider me chuffed to bits. Thanks go out to twitter user carlotta_valdes who bought this to my attention. I recommend any Hitch fans follow Carlotta, who is an endless source of Hitchcock news and information.

