I have been spamming wallpapers out lately for two reasons;

1) I get about 50-60 unique hits a day from search engines for people looking for high-res wallpapers for classic films, so I have obviously stumbled across one of the last few shadowy, unfilled corners of the intertubes.

2) Sadly I haven’t actually seen any films in the last week or so worth talking about.

I hope to rectify that a.s.a.p. I had previously decided that I had seen enough film noir for a while, but I realise that I am now seriously missing the genre. I’m craving the larger-than-life, shady characters that noir has in abundance, and longing for the fedoras, the chain-smoking, the trenchcoats, the seedy underbelly of society, and the costumed dames.

So I’m revisiting the genre. I still have a few noir DVDs left in my unwatched pile, such as “Out of the past” with Robert Mitchum and Kirk Douglas. Diving back into noir also gives me a chance to cross into another passion of mine – namely Fritz Lang films. While I have watched and re-watched his earlier German films, until now I haven’t really taken much interest in his American work, and considering he was an integral part of defining what noir truly was, I’m looking forward to those especially. First of his films will be Scarlet Street and The Big Heat.

So begins my journey back to the shadows. If anyone has any “must-sees” that aren’t on the usual “top noir” lists, I would love to hear them.

